Attic Empire

Attic Empire

    Official Biography

    Attic Empire are a dynamic 7-piece space funk musical collective from Los Angeles California.  Fusing ska, indie rock, soul, funk and jazz, the large ensemble packs serious talent with a rhythm and horn section both sonically and visually impressive.

    Consisting of Tyler Connaghan (lead vocals, rhythm guitar), Nick Aguilera (lead guitar), Brandon Shulkin (bass), Robert Conrad (drums), Gabe Joven (trumpet), Raymond Fong (trombone), and Mowi Debretsion (tenor saxophone, keyboards), the band was formed by the members while still in high school for the 2011 Battle of the Bands at House of Blues Hollywood. Within a year of formation, the group quickly gained attention from renowned industry execs including famed producer/engineer Carlos de la Garza (Young the Giant, Tegan and Sara) who worked with the band to record a couple of singles in early 2012.

    After touring extensively playing festivals and popular venues throughout California, Attic Empire went back to the studio in 2015 to create a high energy four song EP entitled “Astro Getaway”. The end result was what they called “space funk”, “funk” because of the rhythm and vibes, and “space” because of the atmospheric sound that one wouldn't hear with most funk bands. Tracks include “Between the Tides” featuring a blazing horn section with layered vocals and the catchy single “Astro Getaway”.  “Flash” embodies Attic Empire’s full ska sound with traditional funk bass but yet atypical guitar riffs.  The EP concludes with the beautifully poignant indie ballad “Hands Unto The Sun” which takes listeners on a sonic journey of sound.

    Choice Cut - Sargent Tucker - "Good Music"
    Album of the Month - Joan Belgrave - "Oooo Boy"